Stronger 24/7 - Stronger Everyday
Stronger 24/7 Forum
PHATSplit Advice

Cant do any pull ups for PHAT.7346

DFMaster240 private msg quote post Address this user
heyy guys wazz up, i was planning on starting phat begging of January. i been so fucking excited i got all my lifts up and i been practicing for it got my dips up from 0 to 6!!! but i cant do any pull ups, i can only do like 4-6 chin ups. what should i do???should i not do phat, substitute them or start it when i get my pull ups up to 6 reps.

PS. dont say dony start phat if i cant do 6 pullups!(i am not a beginner, been lfting over over a year)
Post 1 IP   flag post
Monster81 private msg quote post Address this user
You could use the assisted pull up machine, or substitute the exercise. I haven't done PHAT, but IMO I would not substitute pull ups, as they are an awesome exercise.
Post 2 IP   flag post
jonrivs49 private msg quote post Address this user
You dont need to change your program. It doesnt matter what you use. Just stick to a program that produces great gains to you. You cant do more than 6 reps for pullups because you still need to gain more strength in order to lift your bodyweight. Some people actually started less than the reps your doing. 4-6 reps is a great range to build strength. Just keep doing Pullups and I assure you that you can lift yourself more than what you can do before you know it. Or you can substitute it with a different exercise like pulldowns. Hope that helps.
Post 3 IP   flag post
THE GODFATHER wannabemuscular private msg quote post Address this user
Build up your pullups - do however many you can the normal way. Keep a chair or something to stand on close. When you can't to any more clean unassisted pullups, stand on the chair, hold the pullup bar, and let yourself down as slow as you as many times needed to hit your target reps.
Repeat for each set of pullups.
Post 4 IP   flag post