NewbiePHATSplit AdviceTeen

Should i start Layne Nortons PHAT routine?8910

Whitewalls private msg quote post Address this user
Hello all, im 17 6ft and 175 lbs atm
Here are my lifts
Squat 225
Bench 130
Deadlift 230

As you can see from my lifts, my upper body is not the strongest and i have a bit of a T Rex build going on. I started lifting a few months ago and i was on Starting Strength. My main goals are to build upper body mass and gain strength as well
Post 1 IP   flag post
WinnersNeverQuit private msg quote post Address this user
Now?
Post 2 IP   flag post
Elminister private msg quote post Address this user
Why not? As with any routine, you can adapt PHAT to your needs. My goal with PHAT is to build up my legs, back and chest so I added more leg, back and chest exercises.

Just don't expect to build much muscle mass if you don't have your diet in check.
Post 3 IP   flag post
Lacedaemon private msg quote post Address this user
At age 17? You need to be 50 before starting it.
Post 4 IP   flag post
33 more years of Starting Strength it is!
:P
Post 5 IP   flag post
Layne Norton had smaller legs before he started a routine similar to P.H.A.T. If you want a balanced body, it is the way to go!
Post 6 IP   flag post
@Lacedaemon But just to point out for him, it's not the only way to go and there are plenty of other routines that are just as good
Post 7 IP   flag post
IrishGymSheep private msg quote post Address this user
I would say plenty is a stretch, it's at the top tier and there isn't ALOT of those.
Post 8 IP   flag post
Agree with both of yall, if he wants to even himself out, P.H.A.T. is the way to go
Post 9 IP   flag post
the1 private msg quote post Address this user
i think a push/pull/legs or a split would be more beneficial
Post 10 IP   flag post
Quote:
Originally Posted by the1
i think a push/pull/legs or a split would be more beneficial

What is your opinion on focusing on one muscle group per day?
Post 11 IP   flag post