Stronger 24/7 - Stronger Everyday
Stronger 24/7 Forum
NewbiePHATSplit AdviceTeenTraining Programs

Beginner routine critique7458

nastybeast private msg quote post Address this user
Hi guys, I've been doing a modified version of PHAT for quite awhile now and have seen good gains. I altered it to suit my preferences. I know I'm a beginner and I shouldn't be making my own routines so i hope u guys can critique it so I can change it.

Monday- Upper body power, I changed Bent over rows to deadlifts

Tuesday- Lower body power , unchanged

Wednesday- rest

Thursday- push day hypertrophy barbell bench press speed work, decline dumbbell press 3 sets of 8-12,incline barbell bench press 3 sets of 8-12, dumbbell shoulder press 3 sets 8-12, dumbbell upright rows 3 sets 8-12, rear delt flies 2 sets 8-15, tricep pushdown 5 sets 8-12

Friday - lower body hypertrophy unchanged

Saturday - pull day hypertrophy, deadlift speed work, weighted chin-ups 4 sets 6-10, seated cable rows 3 sets 8-12, close grip pulldown 3 sets 8-12, hammer curl 3 sets 12-15, barbell curl 3 sets 8-12, incline dumbbell curl 3 sets 8-12

Sunday- rest

Let me know what u think guys. This modified version is rather silly I chose the exercise without any particular reasons( just exercises I liked doing). Thx alot
Post 1 IP   flag post
I KNOW IT'S A LONG READ IM SORRY
Post 2 IP   flag post
pandasashi private msg quote post Address this user
why do ppl go and change a proven thing? layne designed this the way it is for a reason, it works.
if your gonna do that crazy thursday 'push/hyper day', why are you doinf rows and rear delts? those are both pulling motions.
deadlift speedwork? how did that ever sound like a good idea? deadlift is an important compound, theyre meant to be done heavy, so go heavy and scrap the "hypertrophy deads"
saturday only has 2 bicep exercises, add more (like cheat curls, preacher curls, straight bar curls, chins, ect) also, change the weighted chins to weighted wide grip pull-ups.