Stronger 24/7 - Stronger Everyday
Stronger 24/7 Forum
Chest

Benching with flared elbows3952

Stepheningchen private msg quote post Address this user
Hey everyone!

This is my first time typing a thread. Before I begin the discussion, I just want to let you guys know that I've read many threads on here and have been inspired and motivated by many of you. Thank you!

Now on to the discussion...

I just read an article by Menno Henselmans on SS saying that the chest can be stimulated more when the elbows are flared out when benching.

I understand that flaring your elbows out can cause more stress on the shoulders, compared to keeping them tucked in towards your body, and that when you use this method, you should use a lighter weight and not lower the bar all the way down to your chest.

So here is my question:

Would using a lighter weight and flaring out your elbows be more effective in stimulating muscle growth compared to using heavier weight and keeping your elbows tucked in?

Thanks!

Steve
Post 1 IP   flag post
Thor private msg quote post Address this user
Imo, you just shouldn't bench with elbows flared. I really doubt that a slight tuck will significantly reduce pec activation. (I'm not aware of any studies on this point.) However, I know for sure that a destroyed shoulder significantly reduces pec activation.

My advice would just be to play it safe, injuries suck big time and while light sets with flared elbows are passable, once you add up all the work your shoulders get over a week it's quite significant. Most lifters eventually get shoulder troubles, so I think a minimal approach is best.
Post 2 IP   flag post
AKK private msg quote post Address this user
have a rotator cuff injury and im sure you wish you did things differently, trust me had one killlllls your performance when it comes to pressing movements.
Post 3 IP   flag post
thecodes private msg quote post Address this user
Quote:
Originally Posted by AKK