Stronger 24/7 - Stronger Everyday
Stronger 24/7 Forum
BulkingDeadliftSplit AdviceTeenTraining Programs

Which workout split?18423

A7102009 private msg quote post Address this user
Hey, I'm a 16 year old at 73kg and at 13% bodyfat, I have been training mainly strength routines for the past 4 months so that I would be ready to start a bulking phase (I have been training more than 4 months) that will last a couple of years, I will still be doing strength training as pyramid sets seam to work for me, strength and mass wise. However I can't decide on a workout split these past few weeks, and I have tried the following:

Workout Split 1
Push
Pull
Legs

I had some problems with my lower back, as I do lots of bent over rows, but with a much larger range of motion, and I do a lot of deadlift on my pulling day, I am not willing to put these out of my workout plan as, when I take them out I will have the same problem with having a giant thick upper back and then a small thin lower back which I worked hard for to change.
Also on my pulling day I was always sore in my middle and upper traps, from retracting my scapular on chest day, I don't think I'm really forcing it back, but I just feel more activation in my chest when I put it slightly back, I am not to sure if this is right.

Split 2
The part before the + is the focus muscles and the bits after the + is stimulating but not focused

Chest/Biceps (Lats included) + Shoulders/Triceps
Legs + Lower back
Rest
Shoulders/Triceps + Chest
Back + Legs/Biceps
Rest

This is my favorite split, but I don't want to do it just because I know I'll stick to it, I'll stick to the split that makes the best results not on feelings.