Stronger 24/7 - Stronger Everyday
Stronger 24/7 Forum
BulkingNewbieSplit Advice

Best full body routine 3 times/week18143

Bous123 private msg quote post Address this user
Hi,

I have been lifting for 8 months, but cutting for 5 of them and made small progress. I am still fat with about 23-24% body fat and around 34" waist and 184cm in height.

What is a good full body routine for mass 3 times per week?

I looked into 5x5, but I dont think that is ideal for my goal, I am looking hard to boost muscle mass.
Post 1 IP   flag post
The Dark
Knight
eknight private msg quote post Address this user
Wants to gain muscle mass.

Does not think bench press, OHP, barbell row, deadlift, and squat routine is appropriate for his goal.

Wut?! -3X
Post 2 IP   flag post
Hamb0 private msg quote post Address this user
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bous123

I looked into 5x5, but I dont think that is ideal for my goal, I am looking hard to boost muscle mass.

Can you go a bit into detail about your reasoning for this?
Post 3 IP   flag post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hamb0
Quote:

Can you go a bit into detail about your reasoning for this?

I've researched this topic a lot. 8-12 is IDEAL for muscle mass. So 5x5 will build some, but not as much as 8-12, which is my focus. Also StrongLifts 5x5 has no isolation work...
Post 4 IP   flag post
The Dark
Knight
You apparently haven't researched the topic ENOUGH, because that statement is not correct. Studies have demonstrated equal hypertrophy gains in the 3-5 rep range as the 8-10 rep range. So, yes, 5x5 will build just as much. One of many: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/m/pubmed/24714538/

Isolation work? What purpose does that serve? How often, in your life, do you perform isolation movements? They're unnatural. Our bodies evolved to move in complimentary multi-joint patterns. Just some food for thought. -3X
Post 5 IP   flag post