Stronger 24/7 - Stronger Everyday
Stronger 24/7 Forum
Push Pull LegsSplit Advice

New routine ppl?17371

Coopsdaddy private msg quote post Address this user
Looking for a new intermediate routine,I've been doing 531 for tge last 6 months,it's beating my lower back and hips up,looking to change for awhile.interested in a ppl routine.can workout 4-5 days per week.
I've read the stickies,just want to see what's out there,eknight could you post yours?
Post 1 IP   flag post
Beans private msg quote post Address this user
@Coopsdaddy look at the other ppl critique thread going right now, it's listed pretty well in there.
Post 2 IP   flag post
Pull
DL/? 4x3-6
W pull-up x4
BB/t row 4x8-10
R flys 3x8-10
Shrugs 3x8-10
Ez bar curl 3x8-10
Hammer/seated incline curl 3x8-10

Push
Db bench 4x3-6
Ohp/incline3x3-6
Close grip bench 3x8-10
Flys/crossover 3x8-10
Lat raise 3x8-10
Tri ext 3x8-10
Dips 3x8-10

Legs
F squats 4x8-10
B split squat 3x8-10
Curl 3x8-10
Rom deadlift 3x8-10
Calf raise 3x8-10
Abs x4-6sets

My goals are aesthetics and health,strength will come.
Is routine good for that?
Were the slash marks are is just a option If the station is taken or just for some change.
Should I do sets across or ramp up the weight each set?
What is the best way to progress,just move up when all sets are done to the final number or maybe use the 531 method on compounds and just move up asstence when needed?
Some of this is modified to fit my 40 year old body and underlining issues.
Post 3 IP   flag post
sathernut private msg quote post Address this user
Few things. A great way to structure workouts is to have your strength movement first, 3 sets of 3-5 reps then follow with a mostly body building protocol.

That said, reps of 3-6 are too low for a dumbbell press. If you can, flat bench or cg bench for your strength, then db bench should be something like 6-10 reps of possibly higher if you wanted.

So for your exercises, I would CG bench first, then follow with ohp, then Dumbbells etc.