Stronger 24/7 - Stronger Everyday
Stronger 24/7 Forum
CuttingNewbieTraining Programs

Should I bulk or cut?!?17061

MattShowtime private msg quote post Address this user
I'm 24, I've been lifting for almost 2 years now. I compete in BJJ tournaments and I'm always training. I'm wanting to be able to get shredded but need to know if I need to add more of a base. I'm 5'10 at 168. Both are without flexing. I'm wanting to clean bulk soon but I'd like to know if i have a decent base to get down to 8%

Post 1 IP   flag post
SRorhrbac0808 private msg quote post Address this user
Bucky will say you need to loose 50lbs. I'll say you need to gain 50lbs... All comes down to what YOU want to do
Post 2 IP   flag post
my goal is to be between 175-180 8% body fat. I'm just wondering what I should do first. I'm competing a lot and I will have to move up a class but don't want to risk being sluggish if I bulk. I'd like to have more muscle size on me while keeping performance up and be shredded haha if only it was that easy
Post 3 IP   flag post
SRorhrbac0808 private msg quote post Address this user
Well fuck dude lol we can't have everything in life. Unless you're Dan Bilzerian. Your goal is something that will take a long time. Even longer since you're involved in combat sport. Idk what to suggest. Other than it can be done. Lol
Post 4 IP   flag post
Haha I appreciate the help man! I'm kinda leaning towards a clean bulk, I hate this low cal shit I'm doing right now. Any tips on gain quality muscle while minimizing fat gains?
Post 5 IP   flag post
mikew private msg quote post Address this user
@MattShowtime it's all in the FAQ thread (at the top of the thread list with the red star). Moderate calorie surplus plus weight training plus time... there's not a shortcut. Unless you're @SRorhrbac0808

That being said I don't think a bulk will make you sluggish at all. You'll have more energy for workouts. Just keep up with speed and agility and so on in your BJJ training.