Stronger 24/7 - Stronger Everyday
Stronger 24/7 Forum
ChestIntroductionMuscle ImbalanceSoccerTeen

What's wrong with my chest ?16869

WorkInProgress private msg quote post Address this user
What's wrong with my chest ?

I've been lifting in the gym for over 10 months now and I am very happy with the overall gains I made!
But I'm not very happy with the gains I made in my chest.

This is how I look now:

As you can see my chest is still a bit flat and stops very abruptly which causes it to not make that perfect chest shape I want but more a half chest.

What could cause this ?
Is it training schedule ? Could it be my nutrition or should I not worry to much because I'm still pretty new to lifting ?

My chest schedule is as follows:

5 sets, 6-8 reps, 1 weight (70kg total right now) - Bench press

3 sets, 12-15 reps, weight increase by the set - incline dumbell press

3 sets, 12-15 reps, weight increase by the set - dumbell pull over

3 sets, 12-15 reps, weight increase by the set - cable cross over

I do this about 1-2 times a week.

So what can I do about my problem ?

Keep in mind that I'm 17, my nutrition is very good ( I have my bad weeks ) and i'm training for 10 months. And I play football ( Soccer for the americans ) on a pretty high level so I only got time to go to the gym 4-5 times a week.
Post 1 IP   flag post
Bucky private msg quote post Address this user
you've been lifting for 10 months...
Post 2 IP   flag post
shannowman private msg quote post Address this user
Mostly it's just time. There's nothing wrong with your chest, you're just a beginner.

You could probably drop half your chest exercises and just focus on getting stronger on 1 or 2. See the faq.

Also, if you're playing football all the time you're probably not eating enough to support growth as well. Building muscle has to be paid for. The currency is food. Again, see the faq.

Basically, you're not doing bad, but you've got some to learn and a lot of gym time to look forward to.