Stronger 24/7 - Stronger Everyday
Stronger 24/7 Forum
Diet AdviceSplit AdviceTraining Programs

Football Specific Lifting Program and Diet16672

DanOpi private msg quote post Address this user
Hey guys! I've been lurking on the site for a while and finally decided to sign up and hopefully get some valuable advice and some questions answered.

So I've been working out and lifting for around 6/7 years now. It wasn't until recently that I started to make my own workouts. I was usually given a workout/lifting manual and followed it. Recently I've been finding lifts online and putting my own stuff together. However I think I'm not lifting for my goals. I'm lifting more as a bodybuilder/power lifter. While I'm having fun with it I want to get a more specified lifting and diet program for me as an athlete.

I understand the basic concepts of diet for bodybuilders where there is bulking (calorie surplus) and cutting (calorie deficit). However I'm curious if this is the best way to go about as an athlete. I recently was sick and lost some weight otherwise I was happy with my weight (220-225 lb). So I don't really need to bulk unless you guys see it necessary. But I also don't want to lose any weight. Thoughts/suggestions on a diet for a football athlete?

As for lifting/workout program. I really have no idea how to structure a new plan. I usually go to the gym for 2 or 3 hours, take my time, hit the body part I'm working for the day and get out. I feel like I need to pick more explosive and full body lifts/movements to benefit me on the field (Outside Linebacker). Is there a good program out there that would fit my needs or that I could modify a bet to help me become a better athlete?

I'd also like to see if anyone could help me put together a running/conditioning program for the summer. I'd imagine having sprints, footwork, and plyos but again I have no idea what specifics or splits would work best.

TL;DR: