Stronger 24/7 - Stronger Everyday
Stronger 24/7 Forum
PhysiqueSplit AdviceTraining Programs

Training for Hypertrophy Only16527

ajm87 private msg quote post Address this user
I'm looking to find or create my next workout routine. I am not allowed to train in a rep range lower than 8 due to my heart condition, nor can I squat or deadlift. I have been lifting for about ten years now. I am trying to find or even make my next workout routine that focuses on hypertrophy, but also achieves progressive overload. I am just having a hard time creating a program with progressive overload in the 8+ rep range. I have been doing variations of Push, Pull, Legs for the last year or more. I would like to continue to do Push, Pull, Legs, but am having trouble progressing due to constantly in the 8+ rep range. Could somebody provide me with a PPL suggestion that I could do with my 8+ rep range and no deadlifts/squats suggestions?
Post 1 IP   flag post
For the last week, I have started Westside for Skinny Bastards Version 3. For the MAX effort lower body days, I was thinking about changing it to speed trap bar deadlifts and doing 6 sets of 3 instead of 1 heavy set.

Here's what my layout looks like. Does it seem like enough to put some muscle on my physique? Or if I were to focus on physique, should I be doing a different program? :

MONDAY – Max-Effort Upper Body
TUESDAY – Dynamic-Effort Lower Body
WEDNESDAY – Off/Run
THURSDAY – Repetition Upper Body
FRIDAY – Max-Effort Lower Body
SATURDAY – Off/Run
SUNDAY – Off/Run

*Repetition Upper Body Note: 4 weeks of 3 sets of max reps followed by 2 weeks of 4x12 with moderate weight.

Max Effort Upper Body
A. Flat Dumbbell Bench Press - work up to a max set of 3-5 reps
B. Incline Dumbbell Bench Press - 2 sets of max reps (perform 15-20 on 1st set, use same weight)
C1. Seated Cable Row - 3-4 sets of 8-12 reps
C2. Face Pulls - 3-4 sets of 8-12 reps
D. Barbell Shrugs - 3-4 sets of 8-15 reps
E. Dumbbell Curls - 3-4 sets of 8-15 reps