Stronger 24/7 - Stronger Everyday
Stronger 24/7 Forum
CuttingSplit AdviceTraining Programs

Too high volume on a cut?16413

Nkravn private msg quote post Address this user
Hey everyone! I've been doing this workout program for the last 3 months with great results in a "gaining/bulk phase" And i'm now going to lover my calories in order to cut. Is it too much to keep up with the exact same program? too high volume - frequency or what so ever? If yes - how should I do it then?
^ Im open for other splits. I just don't find fullbody attractive.

All exercises is done with 4 sets of each with 6-12 reps

My weekly routine is : Day 1, day2, day3, REST, day1, day2, day3, REST... And so on. Sometimes I add another rest time if I feel like it.

Day 1 - Back and Biceps

-Deadlift
- Rows
- Chin ups
- Pulldown
- Preacher curls
- EZ Biceps Curl

Day 2 - Chest and Triceps

-Benchpress
-Incline dumbell benchpress
- Flyes with cable
- French press
- Triceps pushdowns
-Rotator exercises with cables

Day 3 - Legs and Shoulder
- Squat
- Lunges
- Calf-Raise
- Military press
- Lateral Raise
- Bend over, reverse flyes
- Abs
Post 1 IP   flag post
Beans private msg quote post Address this user
It really comes down to preference. Conditioning will take a bigger hit faster during a cut than strength in lower reps, so I personally drop reps down to 5 or less when I cut. I personally find myself more prone to little injuries doing high reps on a cut. There are a lot of people who continue to do the same routine while cutting and bulking.

As far as frequency goes, just do what you can handle. Following your routine will probably be fine for a while, but you might start having trouble recovering and be more prone to injury after a couple of months. Then you can just add more rest days and adjust your diet accordingly.
Post 2 IP   flag post
Also, do you even have hamstrings?
Post 3 IP   flag post