Stronger 24/7 - Stronger Everyday
Stronger 24/7 Forum
Split AdviceTeen

Need new routine15595

gymguy6969 private msg quote post Address this user
Hi all, i've been running an upper/lower/phat type routine for the past 6 months.. I like it, but I'm looking to switch it up. The upper body day really seems to be a lot for too work out all those muscles in one day.

My weight is 17.. bench 280x5
squat 320x5 (best was 325x8)

My diet is on point.. I've been lifting consisently for 5 years now. I want to train 5 days a week. I was thinking of doing a 3 way rotating split the problem is I don't want the days of the week to change every week. Like, one day I don't want legs to be on a monday, and the next week legs on a friday. (its hard enough to do heavy squats- I'd like to have a desingated day atleast for legs)

any ideas?
Post 1 IP   flag post
Rawsteel private msg quote post Address this user
I recommend the p/p/l i've been running for the last ~6 months (have been lifting for 5½ years).
The only problem is that the days change, something you don't want.
But i'll post it anyway, maybe you'll change your mind :P

B -> A -> A -> B -> A -> A -> 3-5 days rest or 3 x A deload workouts -> repeat

D1 - Push A
D2 - Legs B
D3
D4 - Pull A
D5 - Push B
D6
D7 - Legs A
D8 - Pull B
D9

D1 - Push A
D2 - Legs A
D3
D4 - Pull A
D5 - Push A
D6
D7 - Legs B
D8 - Pull A
D9

D1 - Push B
D2 - Legs A
D3
D4 - Pull B
D5 - Push A
D6
D7 - Legs A
D8 - Pull A
D9

Progression method
In the main exercises (squat, bench, rdl and pull-ups) i increase the weight when i can manage 6/9 reps in the last set.
And unlike normal straight set progression where you keep the new weight in all of the sets i prefer to add 2.5 kg in the first set and keep the old weight in the 2 remaining sets.
When i again can manage 6/9 reps in the last set i add those 2.5 kg to the 2 last sets.
The reason im doing it this way is because i want to keep the volume up.