Stronger 24/7 - Stronger Everyday
Stronger 24/7 Forum
Push Pull LegsTraining Programs

PPL Routine help12240

zacharyc private msg quote post Address this user
Since I started training about 4/5 years ago, I started with a full body routine for the first year and I am now on your typical standard one muscle a day split. I would like to know more about PPL cause I think I will benefit more from the frequency of it rather than the volume of the split I'm doing now. I have made big gains with my split so would like to know why you lot prefer PPL over it and what's a typical PPL routine cause I can't find a basic one as I'm not sure how many sets or exercises per muscle I need to include each day and what particular types of exercises.
Appreciate your help x
Post 1 IP   flag post
Rawsteel private msg quote post Address this user
These are the 3 most common ways of doing it ->

3-1-3, every muscle gets hit every 4th day.
Not something i recommend someone who hasnt been in the gym for a couple of years, one should know their body before lifting weights 6 days a week imo.

D1 - Push
D2 - Lower
D3 - Pull
D4
D5 - Repeat

2-1-2, every muscle gets hit every 4th and 5th day in cycles.

D1 - Push
D2 - Lower
D3
D4 - Pull
D5 - Push
D6
D7 - Lower
And so on

And my favorite where every muscle gets hit every 5th day.

D1 - Pull
D2
D3 - Lower
D4 - Push
D5
D6 - Repeat

The last 6 months i have been sticking to the one above but slighly modified to add more focus to my arms and it looks like this ->

D1 - Back, triceps
D2
D3 - Lower
D4 - Chest, delts, biceps
D5
D6 - Repeat

How the workouts usually looks when it comes to volume ->

Push
Flat chest press: 3 sets
OH press: 3 sets
Incline chest press: 2-3 sets
Flyes: 1-2 sets
Side laterals: 3-4 sets
Triceps extension: 3 sets
Pushdowns: 2 sets

Pull
BB row: 3 sets
Lat pulldowns: 3 sets
DB row: 2 sets
Rear delts: 3-4 sets
Shrugs: 3-4 sets
BB curl: 4-5 sets

Lower
Squat: 3-4 sets
Leg extension or legpress: 3-4 sets
RDL: 3 sets