Stronger 24/7 - Stronger Everyday
Stronger 24/7 Forum
NewbieProgress UpdateSquatsTraining LogTraining Programs

Week 1 of StrongLifts 5x5 Completed11915

TimetoChange private msg quote post Address this user
I just finished the first week of stronglifts 5x5 program and have enojoyed it thus far.

My only issue with the program is that for squats ( I'm new to doing them) I stretch like crazy before and after but during the exercise there is a terrible pain in both my hamstrings. I also don't do much weight either. Any ideas?

Current lifts for SS ending week 1

Bench press - 160Lbs x5
Deadlifts- 225Lbs x5
Overhead press- 95Lbs x5
Squats- 145Lbs?x5
Barbell row- 105Lbs x5

These stats are for a very new gym go'er, so be easy on me

Height 6'3
Weight 225
Post 1 IP   flag post
mikew private msg quote post Address this user
I don't stretch my legs too much beforehand -- except for my hip flexors. I try to stretch out afterward, however.

Is the pain so bad you can't walk? Does it last for a while? If you are new to squats it might take a lil bit for your body to adapt. That's probably the issue.
Post 2 IP   flag post
AverageJoe private msg quote post Address this user
Yeah squatting twice a week is hard at the beginning. Dont stretch before, only in a ballistic manner, except if you really want to improve neuromotor patterns and try reaching for an extreme range of motion. Try warming up a little bit more maybe, and try foam rollers too. And post a video of your squat form.
Post 3 IP   flag post
Alright, thanks for the advice. I am new to the gym but especially new to squats. So, a lot of it is probably just is just a shock to those muscles as they haven't been worked out like this before.

Has anyone tried this paticular program before? If so, did you see vast improvements with your lifts?
Post 4 IP   flag post
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimetoChange