Stronger 24/7 - Stronger Everyday
Stronger 24/7 Forum
Training Programs

Starting strength modification11194

skel1977 private msg quote post Address this user
I know starting strength is made for beginners but i am a novice. Ive been lifting for about 4 months and know my limitations. With that being said i want to get more strength on compound lifts so im going to try starting strength but add a few exercises. Tell me if you think this would help me progress.

Workout A is 3x5
Squat
Bench
Deadlift.
I want to add dumbell press right after bench and add weighted dips after deadlift.

Workout B is 3x5
Squat
Overhead press
Clean
I want to add dumbell overhead press right after barbell press and add weighted chins after clean.
Post 1 IP   flag post
The Dark
Knight
eknight private msg quote post Address this user
I wouldn't. Just me, but programs designed by professionals that have worked for decades shouldn't be modified.

No offense, but after 4 months you're definitely not a "novice." I'd consider almost every person I've ever met or trained (or trained with)- myself included- a beginner for their first year, if not longer. You're still making gains and changes at the cellular level for 6 months+ before you even start having to modify your diet or routine to get past sticking points. -3X
Post 2 IP   flag post
AustralianOak private msg quote post Address this user
Anything I say after this^^^ will look like a baby wrote it. But yeah wat he said lol
Post 3 IP   flag post
skel1977 private msg quote post Address this user
so i should stick to starting strength without modification then. Thats why i asked thanks.

I have been on a 3 day split and realized that its probably not the best if i want strength gains which is why im chaning programs
Post 4 IP   flag post
mikew private msg quote post Address this user
A couple things to add: