Stronger 24/7 - Stronger Everyday
Stronger 24/7 Forum
Diet AdviceInspirationNewbieTraining Programs

Lifestyle Change11020

FitForForty private msg quote post Address this user
Hey Guys/Gals

I'm a newbie here so thought i'd introduce myself if anyones interested

So, 2 Weeks ago I thought, Im fed up of being an average overweight man. So decided to do something about it before I'm 40, My initial idea was to get a 6-pack before im 40 (3 months) I am 5'8 and a quarter, 12st 7lbs (177lbs/80kg) 26 BMI and 20% BodyFat (According to the machine in boots) I have slim arms and legs and all my weight seems to be on my belly and chest.

Anyway, I decided to start off I'll bike to work (on my Mountain bike)every weekday 6 miles each way which I am now really getting into and getting faster, so thats the cardio nailed, I also started going to the Gym at lunchtimes with my mate 3 times a week (just done 5 session today)I've also started to sort out my diet, eating really well now, cut out all the Dr.Peppers, Crisps, Bread, Choccy etc. My usual routine now is a

smoothie for breakfast which consists of (2 pieces of fruit/berries, 2 tbl spoons of hemp seeds, 1 tbl spoon of greek yoghert, 1 tbl spoon on peanut butter, 1 tbl spoon of coconut oil, 2 cups of Almond milk or coconut water and a handful of spinach

Salad and wholemeal roll/soup for lunch

Meat and 2/3 Veg for Dinner

Snacks: Almonds or fruit

So, I realised, I'm not going to get a 6-pack in 3 months, but doing this regime I have lost 7lbs in just over 1 week, My goal is to lose 1kg per week for 11 weeks. Which I think is going to be hard but manageable.

At the gym, I want to get my muscles toned/bigger/stronger so am currently doing a full body workout each time I go for the next 6 weeks, then I plan to concentrate on a specific set of muscle groups each session for the forseeable future.