Stronger 24/7 - Stronger Everyday
Stronger 24/7 Forum
NewbieSplit AdviceTraining Programs

If you were helping out a complete beginner10089

Ramses private msg quote post Address this user
Hi all, just looking for a bit of advice. My brother has asked me to write him up a program, now im by no means a professional but i still want to help him out. He is 22 and hasn't really ever been into fitness, lifting or a sport. Hes a bit of the skinny fat type at the mo. My question is, where would you start someone like my brother?

So far my thoughts have been sticking it to the basic exercises, ie squat deadlift and bench in an upper/lower spilt, but im not sure for either 2 or 3 days a week, just following a A-B-A-B type schedule. Hes pretty busy with uni and work, so I dont want to throw him in at the deep end and keep the workload pretty light to begin with and then go from there. Anyone got any other advice? Im really keen to help him out and your guys opinions would be awesome!
Post 1 IP   flag post
pandasashi private msg quote post Address this user
i would tell hime to just follow a basic strength routine covering the basic 3...just a 3 day split..learn form, gain general strength then after a couple months, maybe add some more workouts but still maintain the same basic structure
Post 2 IP   flag post
pandasashi private msg quote post Address this user
*him
Post 3 IP   flag post
lukecorney private msg quote post Address this user
full body program with compound lifts for a couple of weeks to a upper lower split to splitting it up more down the track
Post 4 IP   flag post
lukecorney private msg quote post Address this user
machines first till forms right then barbells till forms right then dumbells to slowly build up stabalizer muscles. basic pt 101
Post 5 IP   flag post
shannowman private msg quote post Address this user
Something basic by mark rippetoe, can't go too wrong with it. I wish it was how I startedz
Post 6 IP   flag post