Stronger 24/7 - Stronger Everyday
Stronger 24/7 Forum
BulkingCuttingDiet AdviceProgress Pics

Where should I go from here?19352

adaw1 private msg quote post Address this user
Hi all!

I'm new to this forum. Hope this is a good place to post this. I know this is a common question - but I feel having some opinions other than my own would be useful.

I've been working out seriously for about 3 years now, and have made some decent progress for sure (progress pic attached below). I've been cutting for two-three months since June/July and I've plateaued hard now. It wouldn't be so frustrating if it weren't for the fact I always seem to plateau after losing 5/7 pounds every time I cut. I usually give up and bulk - because I tend to build muscle easier than I burn off fat.

My workouts are organized in a standard push, pull, legs routine with about 15 minutes of HIIT cardio everyday. I do compounds and accessory lifts usually in the 8-12 rep range for accessories and 4-8 for compounds.

To be clear, my goal from the start has always been to have visible abs - an aesthetically pleasing physique that isn't necessarily massive, but still muscular. I want to look toned. I've never been able to achieve that yet, though I feel I am getting closer.

5'10"
Approx. 162 pounds

So what do you guys think? Should I push further and keep cutting? Or should I be doing some sort of Bulk or Recomp (at maintenance)? Of course I'm at that classic point where I could probably use a little bit of both (more muscle and less fat) - but for now, which is the better course of action?

Thanks!

Post 1 IP   flag post
frame private msg quote post Address this user
Try flexing abs. If you want abs shown while not flexed you got to be much lower in bf. Try excluding artificial flavors from diet, and keep lifting with meintenance cal plan, maybe this helps.
Post 2 IP   flag post
FiremanSi private msg quote post Address this user