Stronger 24/7 - Stronger Everyday
Stronger 24/7 Forum
LEgsSplit Advice

Build "decent" quads with limited exercises?19219

forgottenpass private msg quote post Address this user
Hey, what's up guys!

I had a question regarding building my quads with only a limited amount of exercises I'm able to do.
I have this rare knee condition that had been causing me injuries ever since I started training legs.
...Just so its out there I am not avoiding these exercises because "I don't like them" or "They're uncomfortable to do".

With this rare condition, I cannot do any exercises that require my knee's to bend while my feet are planted on the ground such as squats, deadlifts, leg press, lunges, etc.
The exercises I'm limited to are leg extensions,cycling, stair master, running etc.

I wanted to know if I will be able to build "decent" quads with these limited exercises?

Realize I said "decent", meaning I am not concerned about building huge quads as that seems like a pipe dream for the exercises I'm limited too.
I have every other lower body muscle covered(hamstrings,glutes,calves) and I'm able to do multiple effective exercises to build them. Quads are the only issue!

Thanks for your help!
Post 1 • IP   flag post
frame private msg quote post Address this user
Try to strenghten muscles around the knee with half bend exercises like band TKE's or similar work. After some time knee muscles will be strong enough to do squats above parallel. Just start slowly, do not build up in weights very fast. Legs positioning is very important, got to find position that does not aggreviate knee and at the same time allows perfect squat form ( bar travelling straight line during exercise) Above seems to work for me. I have similar knee issue.
Post 2 • IP   flag post
Unfortunately it is impossible to build decent quads without squats for natural lifter. But you can mantain or just have athletic quads doing cycling etc, depends what means decent tho
Post 3 • IP   flag post